Advertisement
Did You Know?
Inclusion of oats in a gluten-free diet is a subject of much controversy. Though oats do not contain gluten, they contain avenin, a protein that can still evoke intolerance in the intestine.

Gluten and Celiac Disease
Allergy or intolerance to certain components in common foods is quite prevalent in the general population. A well-known example is that of lactose intolerance. Another such intolerance is to gluten, a type of protein found in wheat, barley, triticale and rye. Gluten is the component that gives dough made from the above grains its elasticity and peculiar texture. When people with celiac disease ingest gluten-containing foods, their immune system attacks the villi, which are tiny structures present in the small intestine.

Why is Avoidance of Gluten Necessary?
For people who suffer from gluten intolerance, even derivatives of wheat, rye and barley that contain gluten are not safe for consumption. Ingestion of gluten leads to inflammation of the intestine. Consequently, it is unable to absorb important nutrients, thereby causing the person to become malnourished over a period of time. To avoid this deleterious cascade, gluten-containing foods have to be avoided by such people.

Some foods that are naturally gluten-free have still been found to cause the symptoms of gluten-intolerance in patients with celiac disease. This is often because of contamination with gluten-containing grains or foods. This happens because many foods are processed in the same area as gluten-containing foods. Always check the labels on foodstuff, so that you are sure that they are gluten-free.

Grains, Beans and Nuts

♦ Teff
♦ Rice
♦ Corn
♦ Millet
♦ Lentil
♦ Quinoa
♦ Soybean
♦ Sweet Corn
♦ Buckwheat
♦ Flaxseed
♦ Fava bean
♦ Carob seed
♦ Green bean
♦ Job's Tears
♦ Waxy Maize
♦ Adzuki bean
♦ Rapeseed
♦ Hyacinth bean
♦ Garbanzo Bean
♦ Sesame seed
♦ Black Gram
♦ Tepary Beans
♦ Sweet chestnut
♦ Sunflower seed
♦ Sorghum
♦ Almond
♦ Walnut

Food Products

♦ Polenta
♦ Corn chips
♦ Marmalade
♦ Yam Flour
♦ Taro
♦ Tapioca
♦ Cornflour
♦ Black Treacle
♦ Rice Cakes
♦ Rice Flour
♦ Aspic
♦ Rice Crackers
♦ Tamari Soy Sauce
♦ Tapioca Flour
♦ Sorghum Flour
♦ Corn Tortillas
♦ Mustard Flour
♦ Masa Harina
♦ Hominy
♦ Sago
♦ Masa
♦ Masa Flour
♦ Hemp Flour
♦ Corn Grits
♦ Popcorn
♦ Sweet Chestnut Flour

Food Additives

♦ Gelatin
♦ Saffron
♦ Galactose
♦ Lecithin
♦ Honey
♦ Rosin
♦ Pectin
♦ Maltol
♦ Algin
♦ Sucrose
♦ Lactose
♦ Isinglass
♦ Yeast
♦ Annatto
♦ Vanillin
♦ Tara Gum
♦ Pectinase
♦ Maltodextrin
♦ Tagatose
♦ Corn Sweetener
♦ Soy Lecithin
♦ Xanthan Gum
♦ Acacia Gum
♦ Ester Gum
♦ Guar Gum
♦ Karaya Gum
♦ Tragacanth Gum
♦ White Rice Vinegar
♦ Apple Cider Vinegar

Vegetables

♦ Artichokes
♦ Edible Seaweed
♦ Beetroot
♦ Cabbage
♦ Onions
♦ Celery
♦ Zucchini
♦ Spring Greens
♦ Kale
♦ Asparagus
♦ Turnips
♦ Scallions
♦ Purple Broccoli
♦ Carrots
♦ Lettuces
♦ Rutabaga
♦ Butternut Squash
♦ Potatoes
♦ Shallots
♦ Watercress
♦ Brussels Sprouts
♦ Spinach
♦ Horseradish
♦ Cucumbers
♦ Parsnips
♦ Radishes
♦ Rhubarb

Fruits

♦ Apples
♦ Grapes
♦ Oranges
♦ Pears
♦ Tomatoes
♦ Elderberries
♦ Watermelons
♦ Figs
♦ Plums
♦ Apricots
♦ Cherries
♦ Bananas
♦ Pumpkins
♦ Redcurrants
♦ Blackcurrants

Dairy Products

♦ Tofu
♦ Milk
♦ Cream
♦ Butter
♦ Buttermilk
♦ Plain Yogurt
♦ Cottage Cheese
♦ Processed Cheese

Alcoholic Beverages

♦ Tequila
♦ Grappa
♦ Champagne
♦ Armagnac
♦ Sherry
♦ Rum
♦ Gin
♦ Wine
♦ Kahlua
♦ Vodka
♦ Ouzo
♦ Brandy
♦ Mead
♦ Cognac
♦ Vermouth
♦ Cherry Liqueur

In addition to the above, beer made from grains like Buckwheat, Sorghum, Rice and Corn is gluten-free.

Nutritional Supplements

♦ Spirulina
♦ Hydrolyzed Soy Protein
♦ Vitamins (Pure)
♦ Lipase
♦ Casein
♦ Whey
♦ Papain
♦ Soy Protein
♦ Soy Protein Isolate
♦ Whey Protein Isolate
♦ Hydrolyzed Caseinate
♦ Whey Protein Concentrate

Others

♦ Tea
♦ Fresh Meat
♦ White Vinegar
♦ Pure Spices
♦ Rennet
♦ Fresh Eggs
♦ Hemp Oil
♦ Corn Oil
♦ Olive Oil
♦ Castor Oil
♦ Sunflower Oil
♦ Peppermint Oil
♦ Cotton seed Oil
♦ Alfalfa
♦ Hemp
♦ Hops
♦ Licorice
♦ Lemon Grass

There are many alternatives for people who have to go gluten-free and although it may seem difficult in the beginning, it is easy once you are able to find the appropriate substitutes for the foods that you love, but cannot eat.

Disclaimer: This Buzzle article is for informative purposes only, and should not be used as a replacement for expert medical advice.